Seated Massage

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Do you like my new massage chair? It’s by Oakworks, who make a lot of massage equipment. This one is near the top of the line, and I got it in the same color as my table and rollaround stool. 

Just below is what a chair massage looks like, more or less –

chair_massage_3080302_std

but if that guy really holds his hands that way, with the wrist twisted at that unholy angle, he won’t be working for long.

The big advantage of chair massage is the lack of fuss involved. There’s no need for a private space, or undressing and redressing, or changing linens – note the disposable face cradle cover, though – and I can take care of a lot of upper body muscles in 15 minutes. Legs get short shrift, of course, but most people’s problems are in their shoulders, neck, and lower back, all of which I can easily treat in this position.

I used to do a lot of chair massage when I worked for a chiropractor. In fact, sometimes it seemed that was about all I did. When I went to work at the massage clinic, I still did them, though rarely. Sometimes the clinic would sponsor promotions, and I usually volunteered for those, just so I wouldn’t forget how to do this sort of work.

Chair massage physics is very different from table massage. Doing it requires a different stance, different body mechanics, and different pressure. My hands cannot glide over clothes, so I employ a lot of kneading techniques, using fingers, palms, and fists – though always keeping my wrists in a neutral position, unlike our friend in the photo. Massaging the client’s forearms, hands, and fingers is about the same, table or chair, and people in offices who sit and type at computers all day really appreciate that.

So the plan for my new chair is to do office calls. I talked to my dental hygienist when I had a cleaning last week, and asked if I she thought I could set up in their office and work on the staff. It’s a busy place, three dentists and six hygienists, plus clerical staff. I could spend most of an afternoon doing 15 minute massages.

We shall see how this works out. At the very least, I get a cool new toy to play with.

That is all.

Mark out.

Leave a Reply

